Outstanding Book Award: The deadline for Nominations is August 31, 2025.

Nominations sent to: Melissa Morabito, <u>melissa.morabito@uml.edu</u> Copy nomination to: Jason Williams, <u>williamsjas@montclair.edu</u>

In recognition of the best book published in the area of criminal justice.

Nominations for the Outstanding Book Award are restricted to members of the Academy. Individuals who are involved in the production of a book, or who have a financial interest in it, may not nominate that book for this award. The nominee should:

- 1. Make an extraordinary contribution to the study of crime and criminal justice.
- 2. Book must be published within three (3) calendar years prior to the meeting at which the award will be given.
- 3. Edited volumes which include previously published works are not eligible for the book award.
- 4. In general, textbooks are not eligible for the book award. Exceptions can be made for textbooks that offer a new theoretical framework or otherwise make a significant advance in scholarship. The Chair of the Awards Committee will decide if a textbook meets this requirement.
- 5. If the number of nominated books exceeds six (6), the Awards Committee Chair will have the discretion of selecting the six (6) most promising books for consideration by the Book Award Subcommittee.
- 6. To be considered for the book award, the publisher, nominator, or author must provide complimentary copies of the books to all members of the Book Award Subcommittee. If a book is not reviewed after being nominated, any copies of the book will be returned to the publisher or original source.
- 7. Nominations for the ACJS Outstanding Book award are restricted to members of the Academy. Individuals who are involved in the production of a book, or who have a financial interest in it, may not nominate that book for this award.
- 8. All nominated books must have at least one author who is an ACJS member at the time the book is nominated.

Nominators <u>must</u> arrange for a copy of the nominated book to be sent to all members of the Outstanding Book Award Subcommittee:

Tanya Grant (<u>tgrant@stmarytx.edu</u>) Elizabeth Gloyd (<u>elizabeth.gloyd@sfasu.edu</u>) Andrea Krieg (<u>andrea.krieg@elmhurst.edu</u>)
John Brent (<u>john.brent@eku.edu</u>)
Cassandra Young (<u>cassandra.gonzalez@du.edu</u>)